Skip to main content

Expert Advisory Group

The Expert Advisory Group (EAG) is a forum for Digital Repository of Ireland (DRI) staff to draw in a formal way on national and international expertise in a range of disciplines and sectors including the repositories and archives, cultural heritage, research and education, humanities and social sciences, legal, technical and creative domains. The EAG convenes once a year in November.

The duties of members of the EAG include:

  • To share expertise and best practice in their field
  • To attend DRI’s annual EAG meeting to discuss DRI chosen topics
  •  To provide individual or group expertise on an infrequent, ad-hoc basis when DRI is drafting or significantly revising new policies or initiatives, to ensure we align with international best practice

EAG members are invited to sit on the group for two years with the option to remain on the panel for another term. EAG members also have the option of resigning at a date they determine. Where an EAG member is making an exceptional contribution they may be asked to sit for a third term.

The composition of the EAG should not exceed 25 members. We will not necessarily draw on each EAG member in a given year and EAG members can be asked to sit on more than one panel (but not more than 2). EAG members will be listed on the DRI website under the EAG webpage.

The EAG will meet in November each year. A save the date will be circulated to EAG members two months in advance. An agenda for the EAG and Documents for discussion and review will be distributed 4-6 weeks in advance of the meeting to the EAG panel members.

EAG will meet virtually. EAG members who are called to contribute their expertise will join for their targeted panel (or panels) only, to minimise their time commitment to the group; however, if EAG members are interested in listening to other panels they are welcome to do so. Dublin-based EAG panel members are invited to sit in on the panel in person or remotely, subject to government guidelines. At the discretion of DRI, we may open up some panels to DRI members or to the broader Digital Preservation community.

The intention is that all members of the group will benefit from interactions with peers in related fields, and that the expertise provided will help positively shape DRI’s mission as a trusted national infrastructure for the preservation, curation, and dissemination of Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data.

The following individuals are members of the EAG

Name Title and Organisation
Femi Bankole Co-Founder, Black and Irish
Owen Conlan Professor in Computer Science, Trinity College Dublin
Peter Crooks Associate Professor, School of Histories and Humanities, Programme Director of Beyond 2022, Trinity College Dublin
Catriona Crowe Archivist/Historian
Ingrid Dillo Deputy Director, DANS (Data Archiving and Networked Services)
Erin Faulder Assistant Director of Digital Strategies, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library
Catherine Ferris Open Scholarship Officers, IReL (Irish Research e-Library)
Ramisa Gachpaz Hamed Teaching Fellow, Computer Science, Trinity College Dublin
Gina O’Kelly Executive Director,  Irish Museums Association (IMA)
William Kilbride Executive Director, Digital Preservation Coalition
Keith D. Lilley Professor of Historical Geography, Queens University Belfast
Silvia Loeffler Artist/Lecturer, National College of Art and Design
Devika Madalli Professor of Documentation Research and Training, Indian Statistical Institute, India and Adjunct Faculty, DISI, University of Trento
Maciej Maryl Assistant Professor and Director at Digital Humanities Centre, Institute of Literary Research of the Polish Academy of Sciences
Jennifer McCarthy Archaeologist, DRI Early Career Research Award Winner 2019
Rosaleen McDonagh Playwright, Writer, Co-Director of Pavee Point
Dr Celeste McNamara Assistant Professor, School of History and Geography, Dublin City University
Laura Molloy Artist, Senior Research Lead, CODATA (Committee on Data of the International Science Council)
Thomas Murray Higher Education Lead; Adult Community Education/Social Justice Researcher, An Cosán
Jeneen Naji Associate Professor of Digital Media and Head of Practice, Department of Media Studies, Maynooth University
Brian Ó Raghallaigh Lecturer, Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge, Dublin City University (DCU)
Patricia Sleeman Senior Archivist (Digital Preservation),  UN Human Rights Commission
Luke Smith Director of Technology, EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
Erzsébet Tóth-Czifra Open Science Officer, Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities (DARIAH-EU)
Triona White Hamilton Heritage Professional based in Northern Ireland

DRI is funded by the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science (DFHERIS) via the Higher Education Authority (HEA) and the Irish Research Council (IRC).

Higher Education Authority Logo
Irish Research Council Logo
Core Trust Seal Logo
Digital Preservation Awards 2022 Winners Ribbon Logo

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated